Gluten Free Foods List: A Quick Reference Guide

check listWith the awareness of celiac disease and gluten intolerance becoming widespread, you’re probably asking yourself what you can safely eat. If you’re new to this lifestyle, you may be totally overwhelmed. Even gluten-free veterans need some help because this way of living really does take some time to understand.

Celiac disease is brought about by a number of factors, and far more research is definitely required on this subject. What is widely known is that certain grains containing gluten, such as wheat-based products, trigger mild to severe symptoms in many people. Eliminating gluten primarily by avoiding certain foods has the power to ease and eliminate these reactions altogether. That’s where this gluten free foods list comes in.

About this gluten free foods list

To make things easier, we’ve put together a list that you can use as a handy resource or print out. Major food categories are broken up into the following sections: flour, breakfast cereals, bread, pastas, fruit and vegetables, dairy products, fish, meat and eggs, fats and condiments, snacks and drinks. This list is meant to be used as a quick reference when cooking or before going to the grocery store.


  • Flour – If you like to bake, use gluten free all-purpose flour to replace your standard white flour.
  • Corn Flour – Corn flour is a safe alternative for thickening sauces, gravy and baking. This method has been used for many years.
  • Rice Flour – Rice flour is a suitable replacement for wheat-based flour because the texture is very similar.

 Breakfast Cereals:

  • Pre-Packaged Cereals – Many major cereal brands can now be replaced with gluten-free versions. For example, Kellogg’s, General Mills and Post all remove the gluten from some of their most popular varieties including fruity pebbles, rice chex and rice krispies. You can also choose gluten free cereals that are produced by manufacturers specializing in gluten-free products.


  • Loaves, buns, sticks, baguettes etc: Many types of bread have gluten-containing grains — wheat, rye and barley. Make sure bread packages have a “gluten free” label before buying. If you need some help finding safe breads, check out our gluten free bread brands post.


  • Pastas – Beware of traditional pastas because they typically contain gluten. Instead, opt for pastas made out of gluten-safe grains including corn, rice and quinoa. Always verify the product has the gluten-free label to be safe.

Fruit & Vegetables

  • Fresh fruits and vegetables are usually gluten free. Beware of frozen or canneditems that may contain other ingredients, or that are processed in a facility where cross contamination with gluten is possible.

 Dairy Products

  • Most dairy products are gluten free. All variations of cream, yogurt, cheese, fromage frais and milk can form part of a gluten free diet. Please note that fromage frais and yogurt containing Muesli or cereals should be avoided.

Fish, Meat & Eggs

  • Meats & Fish – Fresh meat (including poultry and fish), cured meats and plain cooked meats remain gluten free. Shell fish in brine is also free of gluten. Avoid buying meats that are covered in breadcrumbs or any coating you’re unsure of. Inspect the ingredients of pre-packaged meats, such as salami and deli slices, to detect any potential sources of gluten.
  • Eggs – Fresh eggs (still in their shell) are gluten free. Do not buy Scotch Eggs as these are coated with breadcrumbs and not gluten free.

Fats & Condiments

  • Butter, cooking oils, margarine, lard or low fat spreads – For the most part, these are all gluten free. Always check the ingredients to be sure.


  • Snacks – Avoid buying pre-made varieties unless the package specifically states that it doesn’t have any gluten. One product that is not conclusive in testing to date is dry roasted nuts so you may wish to avoid these for now.


  • Coffee, tea, juice, soft drinks – Unflavored coffee and teas, 100% fruit juice and many sodas are gluten free so no radical change is required here.
  • Beer, wine and spirits – Most alcoholic drinks are gluten free with the exception of malted drinks, beer, stout and ales. Opt for gluten free beers as an alternative.

Where do you go from here?

As you read through the gluten free foods list, we hope this helps you with your new diet. If your head is spinning with confusion, you’re not alone. This is all such a big change at first. You’ll quickly start learning to read labels (if you don’t already), and you’ll get to know food brands very well. Generally, it takes about a month or more to get the hang of this. But like anything else, you’ll get a routine going. Best of all, you’ll start noticing your symptoms are gone, which makes it all so worth it.

If you want a visual snapshot of this information, check out the gluten free grocery list at a glance page.

[signup id=”1049″]

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.